I stated in a blog regarding templates that I have a note in the template model that reminds me of my workflow.

It helps me stay organized and begin the model from the ground up.

 

This is the outline I use for creating a well-organized SketchUp model

1. Build the ground plane first (either from CAD, Google Earth, or an arbitrary rectangle)

2. Draw the outline of the building or space on the ground plane

3. Pop up buildings as simple shapes

4. Add Layers as needed – SketchUp layers are more about visibility control than object control (it’s best to add all the layers you need before creating scenes)

5. Add 2D placeholder for plants (they can be swapped out later for 3D as needed)

6. Add/reload 3D plants or other components (entourage)

7. Compose scenes at key places/moments in the model

8. Add styles (update your scenes as needed)

9. Turn on shadows (update your scenes as needed) – it’s a  good idea to have at least one scene set up without shadows for easy model manipulation

10. Add any text after all the camera views in your scenes are set.  The text locations can go astray if you are still moving the camera view around.  (Just remember to have a layer for text setup early so you don’t have to toggle it off with your various scenes.

 

So why is this text into my template?

It reminds me that a well-built, orderly model will reduce rework, or time delays, as the model becomes more detailed.

